Why SEO is a 24/7 job : facts, problems, situations

Websites that want to stay on top and always get a good Google ranking, have to develop a constant care for their content in terms of SEO. You will always need an SEO expert or you’ll have to learn for yourself because you’ll create new content, Google will change the algorithm, new keywords require your attention, old articles that need to be revisited and so on and so forth.

As you can see there are plenty of reasons to always keep an eye on how SEO friendly your pages are but I will try to offer more in depth explanations in what follows. All the factors that determine out rankings in search engines need to be carefully balanced because in the end Google will rank you but the humans are your real customers.

Constant optimization of your existing pages

Now you are probably wondering : if I do my homeworks and create SEO friendly content each time why do I need to rethink it ? The most direct answer is because of your bounce rate or simply because of the evolution of your website’s content.

Lets look at the first factor : the bounce rate. I’ve noticed on one of my websites that I was receiving high amounts of traffic from some keywords and it all went to an article. When I saw this I have to admit I was very happy but then I saw the bounce rate for those keywords : over 70% . If you don’t know, this bounce rate is huge. This basically meant that those who founded my article didn’t though it contain interesting information or information they would need – so they were bouncing quickly. I’ve remade the article including additional informations(more actual informations) and few links to other related articles and the bounce rate improved. When I made the modifications I wasn’t thinking on how to use keywords(the article was already receiving traffic) : I was interested only in the human factor – the one that decides the bounce rate.

The evolution of your website content can also determine the review of some articles. Lets say you created an article that was talking about a solution to a problem but was presenting the solution only from a point of view because at that time you were only concentrating on a specific subject. Now, you’re content has evolved and it covers a much more wide area : you’ll need to review some of your articles and add the additional information. Why ? If I rank well for that article, why ? Because if you rank well and humans think the information is incomplete then you achieved nothing.

New content requires attention

This is a self explanatory statement. Of course that you need to apply all the SEO techniques when creating new content. And giving the fact that you will always create new content then you’ll always have to think of SEO. Remember that SEO is used to improve the ranking of your pages on search engines. It doesn’t get you clients or clicks. That is why keep a good balance between your SEO and creating content for humans. The SEO techniques can lead you to some really bad content that humans will not dig – so remember that you have to create new content that is ranking well and is appealing to humans.

Does it matter if Google changes the rules ?

If Google changes the algorithm it’s doing this to help all of us that are searching the Internet to obtain better results. This means that Google is constantly trying to show you the content that has the biggest relevance on your search terms. If you’ve created content based on the rule that I’ve stated above then you’ll be alright. This is what Google wants : for you to create content for the people. The only problem is that the human brain is much more advanced then the Google robot so it can make connections that a piece of software would not even try to realize. And this is where SEO comes in handy : you use some rules to help the Google robot to understand what are you talking about.

Changes in the way Google ranks the pages should be a big concern to all those that are using all sorts of black hat SEO techniques to improve their rankings. I will not state here what those techniques are but basically if you are visiting a web page and the content of that page doesn’t sound right and every 5 words you encounter the same word and at the bottom of the page you see like 100 links with the same words in it then something is wrong.

The domain factor OR When SEO plays a small role

This is something that I know from my own experience. The domain of my blog is .ro and it’s hosted in Romania. If I do a search for “basic SEO analysis” I’m number one here but if you’ll do it in US then probably my post will not even show up. So writing an English blog in Romania for the people that are outside the country and expecting traffic is not an easy task.

Always be conscious about your SEO state and what are the things that really matter. For example in my case you’ll probably wonder how do I get traffic if there is a strong chance I won’t appear in searches made from US for example. I’m using what I know about SEO on all the social networks that I have accounts on and in the end that will drive traffic to my blog. Remember that being preoccupied about SEO all the time doesn’t necessary means you should concentrate only on your website or blog. Use what you know about SEO on all you do on the web and on the social networks but always remember the humans.

The human factor – the one that doesn’t care about SEO

In the end of this article I would like to reinforce the big thing. Use SEO to improve rankings on search engines but use it wisely. Google will only rank you : it will not get you money or new clients. Writing content that is fun to read or that offers an original point of view or that provides valuable information – that is what will make people click on your links and read your content and buy your services or your products.

If you like this article tell me what you think in comments bellow ? If you dislike it comment and tell me why ? If you disagree I would like to know your opinion. Share your ideas or experiences.

Source: http://blog.tomabonciu.ro/why-seo-is-a-247-job-facts-problems-situations/

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other subscribers
  • Sections